Step back 150 years
Boondooma Homestead was the centre of the original Boondooma Station, which was settled in 1846 by three young Scotsmen. It was originally bounded by the hill east of Proston, Brovinia Creek to the north, Darr Creek to the south, and the Dividing Range to the west – a total of nearly 1,000 square miles.
The homestead is one of the few remaining examples of an elegant wooden home built 1854-55. Visitors can walk through several buildings constructed in the 1850s, and spend time in the gardens, enjoying trees and vines also dating from the 1850s.
Many/some people find connections with family members who lived or worked on Boondooma Station in years gone by.
Performers onstage during Spirit of the Bush 2010.
South-east Queensland's premier balladeers' event is held every year to coincide with Heritage Weekend. It is held over five days, and always includes the fourth Saturday of April. Just over 600 vans arrived for our 2010 muster, not including our helpers and invited performers. Bush camping is available with a discount for pre-paying.
For more information, as well as details of the next event, please click here
Boondooma Homestead complex is owned by the South Burnett Regional Council, and run by our Boondooma Museum & Heritage Association Inc.